Beat that digital deluge

This morning, I decided to brave it and follow up a work email I had sent a week ago. I felt shy and embarrassed. Am I bothering them? Will they shoo me away? But wow!  Not for the first time, nor second time but for the third time recently, I received a lovely enthusiastic email back.

In this case, my initial email had been swallowed up into their inbox black hole and they had not noticed it. They had been trying to get in touch with me following our meeting but didn’t know how. And in the other instances, I was on their to do list but probably not at the top (how dare they!) and after my little chaser email, it was all done and the work was fixed up.

Years ago, I had a terrible meeting and my mentor-like manager told me afterwards that the person who had been horrible was going through a divorce, their behaviour had absolutely nothing to do with my work.

Likewise, radio silence is not always because people don’t want to answer. In fact, I am off to answer some lovely emails I’ve received through this blog. I am ashamed to say I haven’t done it earlier because they are so touching I had wanted to give each one a decent amount of time and thought. Yesterday, I realised I was drowning my words in clichés and it has to stop but just one final one, I can’t resist. Don’t be shy. We never know what someone is going through and people’s reactions often have nothing to do with us.

I am off tomorrow to the Bath Children’s Literature Festival with my mother, niece and daughter, oooh! Can’t wait, I hope you have a lovely weekend too.

Alex xxx

What's your view on this motherfirst post? (Psst... I am moderating this so pls nothing offensive - anyway, sure you won't!)

