Full-time vs Freelance-home Score

Based on feedback and readership stats, I’m starting this new leader-board section My Old World (working full-time) vs New World (working part-time freelance and being @ home more) Leader-board. It’s my honest insight into when the new life is bliss (e.g.: more time with my daughter) vs when it feels like the pits (e.g.: little money).

And for the newcomers, welcome and thanks for following! This online zone is partly about my new life after giving up my full-time career, partly about my struggle not conceiving a second child and then a little bit about things vaguely related to both.  I hope you won’t be bored with entries unrelated to your topic of interest. Let me know if so – I love hearing from you.

Leaderboard1-0So with no further delay, today’s score is: Old World vs New World: 1-0

The reason? The financial stress of the start of the new term is  hanging over me. I’m playing a ridiculous return game with the shoe shops, trying to hide from my daughter my difficulty over buying the shoes she wants. And at the back of my mind is the impending payment for all the clubs and activities. She loves so many things like drama and net-ball – is my choice going to restrict her interests, her development, her fun?

On the other hand, I wouldn’t be holding onto this lifestyle if I didn’t think it was right thing for us. This summer has been amazing, spending every moment with my daughter, apart from a few play-dates, and not paying for one hour of childcare. However (this reminds me of a tennis match), as a self-employed couple we earned no money during our ‘family bliss time’, and now are not feeling enamoured with ‘back to school’ shopping.

So at this very moment, even after a beautiful morning with Bella in our garden, I am questioning my choice and scoring the New World nuls points, the Old World un point. Thank you Tiger Mummy for your comments towards this.

5 thoughts on “Full-time vs Freelance-home Score

  1. If you speak to your child’s school they should allow your child to take part in school activities which cost extra – it should also be kept confidential. Schools these days don’t want children not to take part because of lack of money. It’s the same with most private clubs – our cricket and rugby clubs both have ‘hardship’ funds set aside to provide those children whose parents are on low incomes so that the children can join in, also confidential.

  2. I am a freelance teacher with two boys (a teen and a tween). I absolutely love my job, but the downsides are all financial. Low pay, high health insurance rates, no real job security except the fact that I’m trusted there and they know I always put in more than 100%. Every once in a while I become frustrated with myself and wonder if I should be doing it all differently. Financially, definitely. There’s NO advantage to it. OK, I earn something, but compared to my friends with more lucrative jobs, it’s a joke. No benefits, pension, paid holidays or sick days.

    Why do I stick with it? Well, besides the actual teaching which I DO love, it’s the flexibility I have with my family. My husband’s job is demanding with not infrequent travel. We have no relatives who can help. Summer holidays are sorted, as are other days off. If the children need something or someone, I can be there. It’s not just my life that is flexible, but theirs. There’s a lot less stress, for all of us including my husband who doesn’t have to negotiate too many things on the home front during the week.

    And as they get older, it may not be bad to have a presence there in the afternoons, not to be draconian all the time and a helicopter parent, but to have a benevolent eye on what’s going on to make sure things are going in the right direction.

    I try to see it as a “moment in my life”. When they are older and gone, there will be an opportunity for me. I will not be that old and can surely find another challenge or build on the one I have now.

    Yes, there are many times where I wish my career path had been more of a trajectory. I’ve made my choices due to our circumstances, and I don’t want guilt to creep in and ruin the happiness that is there, because as a mother, there’s always guilt no matter what you do.

    I support women’s choices, and men’s choices, and think we all do our best with what we have to work with. And the kids usually turn out perfectly fine no matter what. We just need to find a solution that works for us.

  3. Wow as a mum of pre-schoolers this offered a valuable insight to the start of the new school year gcoming up next year for my oldest son!) Naively I hadn’t even thought about the fact that of course older kids will want certain shoes/activities etc and that financial limits may actually make you feel bad for staying at home! I kind of always assumed that your kids would be happy just to be with you! And at the end of the day I think they are, even if it means giving up some other things but It was still interesting to hear your experiences on this. Hope all ends well in your house hold and I am pretty certain Bella does prefer to have her mummy around even if it means a pair of less flashy shoes :-)

  4. I am 27 and when I was younger my mum just was honest with me and told me and my sister upfront “we don’t have money for that” and I learned to live with it. I survived. I now understand it. of course I was heartbroken when I had to quit my ballet classes but…I did not blame my mum. I think Bella is old enough to understand these things…Maybe talk to her and explain her the situation? Better than having a negative balance in the bank and not being able to sleep.

Comments are closed.